Ten for 2014

I was inspired by Laura at Laura’s Miscellaneous Musings‘  idea of choosing ten films to see for the first time over the course of the year. Raquel at Out of The Past is trying it out too, and I think it’s a good way to set a goal and actually get around to watching those movies that you know you want to, but keep getting pushed back for one reason or another. So to kick off my 2014 in blogging, here’s my list:

Safety Last!

I’m slowly getting around to the silent film canon, and have arrived at Harold Lloyd finally.

8 1/2

This is one of those “You haven’t seen that yet?!?” movies for me. Having only seen La Dolce Vita, I think I need some more Fellini in my life.

Anatomy of a Murder

It has been forever since I’ve seen a new-to-me Jimmy Stewart film, and I think this is the last “big” one on his filmography that I haven’t seen yet.

Easy Rider

I’m rediculously lacking in the New Hollywood department, so I’ve been trying to amend that. This one helps mark the beginning of that era.

The Magnificent Ambersons

I feel like as much as I talk and read about Orson Welles, I haven’t really seen many of his films. I’ve seen about the first ten minutes of this one.

The Third Man

A movie everyone tells me is brilliant and that I keep forgetting to watch.

Modern Times

After The Kid and City Lights, I’ve become really interested in Chaplin. This was suggested as a good next film.

Un femme est un femme

My yearly quest to love Godard as much as Truffaut (it’s never going to happen…) brings me to this New Wave homage to the musical.

Yojimbo

I’m also terrible with Asian film (even though I’m Asian, go figure). I need to watch more Ozu, but am naturally pulled more towards Kurosawa, and this one has plenty of influences on other films like Leone’s A Fistful of Dollars. Speaking of which, I should finally watch Once Upon a Time in the West too…

Mildred Pierce

This is the one that I feel embarrassed about when in the company of other classic film fans, so I’m watching it this year.

Here’s to a great, movie-filled 2014!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ten for 2014

  1. Laura says:

    Hi Lindsay,
    I love your list! Some very diverse choices. I just saw THE MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS myself thanks to my “10 Classics” list a couple of years ago — I’ll be interested to hear what you think about that film and the others on your list too.

    I really like ANATOMY OF A MURDER, MILDRED PIERCE, and SAFETY LAST! and hope you do too. I haven’t seen THE THIRD MAN since college and don’t remember it well at all — I need to revisit it. For that matter I also saw 8-1/2 in college and recall even less about it. Let me know what you think!

    I hope you find the list as valuable and enjoyable an experience as I have. Just linked to you from my original post, too! 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Laura

  2. You have some amazing movie watching ahead of you…and I see a couple on the list I should check out myself!

    Happy 2014!

  3. Enjoyed reading your list, Lindsey — and I envy you for having Mildred Pierce ahead of you. It’s one of my favorite and most-watched movies. I can’t wait to read what you think of it!

    • Thanks for reading! That one I’m really looking forward to. I missed it at the last TCMFF for some reason. I can’t remember if I couldn’t get in or I was just movied-out for the day.

  4. Raquel says:

    Great list! You are in for a real treat for some of these especially Mildred Pierce and Safety Last!

  5. ClassicBecky says:

    Perfect list! You have real treats in store for you. I haven’t seen Yojimbo, but I have seen the others. Now you’ve made me have to see them again! That’s’ OK with me!

  6. Thanks Becky! I’m looking forward to it. I’ve got tons of other New Hollywood stuff I need to watch as well, so I’m definitely trying to branch out a little this year.

  7. Page says:

    Lindsay,
    I was thrilled to see Modern Times on your list. I so love Charlie and I hope you enjoy it. Brilliant filmmaker and comedic icon.

    As for Mildred Pierce. BLECH! I know I’m in the minority but dang did I expect more from it given the many accolades it received. Anxious to get your opinion on it. The Magnificent Ambersons is enjoyable and Welles was just great in it. I’m always fascinated by him and I spend every movie he’s in just staring at him and watching his mannerisms which probably sounds very weird. ha ha

    I think you’ll love Anatomy of Murder for obvious reasons and lastly, Easy Rider. OMG! Just picturing Jack in that gold football helmet makes me start laughing. Perfectly cast and brilliant screenwriting.
    See ya later!
    Page

  8. Hi Page!
    Thanks for your comment. I think I’ve been putting off Mildred Pierce because I’m just not drawn to Joan Crawford. I’ve seen about the first ten minutes of Magnificent Ambersons and really look forward to seeing it in its entirety. Hope you’re doing well!

Comments are closed.