Upcoming Events

It’s August 1, meaning TCM’s Summer Under the Stars starts today, a treat for all classic movie fans. To help celebrate, Michael from Scribe Hard on Film, and Jill from Sittin’ on a Backyard Fence are co-hosting a SUTS blogathon that runs all month. There are tons of great blogs participating on each day, posting on specific movies airing on that star’s day, or the stars themselves. I’ll be contributing on August 12 for Ginger Rogers day, focusing on 42nd Street, which is the Essentials, Jr. pick of the night. I’ll also be writing about Black Gold, which I’ve never seen, but sounds like it’s a fictionalized account of the 1924 Kentucky Derby winner. That will air on Anthony Quinn day, August 20.

Also this month, Gene Kelly celebrates his 100th birthday, and the CMBA is hosting a centennial blogathon in his honor. I’ll be posting on August 22 on Brigadoon, which is one of the first musicals I saw as a kid and a favorite around my household.

Thank you to everyone for being patient with me. I’m about to head off to Los Angeles at the end of the month to start graduate school, so I’m starting to have moving freak outs as all the little details are starting to come together. I’m looking forward to “getting back in the game” so to speak this month with both of these great events, and then I’m sure there will be plenty of Hollywood-centric posts to come in the next months as I get to know my new city.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upcoming Events

  1. Good luck with your move to LA & starting graduate school! Here’s to new & wonderful experiences.

  2. Thank you so much! I appreciate it 🙂

Comments are closed.