New Year’s Movie Meme

Rachel at The Girl With the White Parasol came up with this New Year’s Meme for film. I thought it would be a nice way to start off the new year:

1. What is your all-time favorite Grace Kelly costume?

This is hard. There are so many Grace Kelly dresses in her films that I just love, so I’ll choose this lovely Edith Head creation from To Catch a Thief:

2. What classic film would you nominate for a remake?

I’m pretty set against any classic being remade, unless the first time around it was such a disaster that no one remembers it. As much as I love Truffaut, I have tossed around the idea of a Fahrenheit 451 remake, mainly because I think we now have the technology to portray some of the sci-fi elements in the book better than they could in the 1960s.

3. Name your favorite femme fatale.

I’d have to go with Barbara Stanwyck’s Phyllis Dietrichson from Double Indemnity. She’s a perfectly evil and cunning dame who seduces a perfectly nice guy into doing her dirty work.

4. Name the best movie with the word “heaven” in its title.

I’m going to skip this one as I haven’t seen Leave Her to Heaven yet, and no other movie of note with “heaven” in the title is coming to mind.

5. Describe the worst performance by a child actor that you’ve ever seen (since Laura gave me the idea).

Well, the first thing that comes to mind is Jake Llyod in Star Wars Episode I, so I’ll just go with that.

6. Who gets your vote for most tragic movie monster?

King Kong for sure.

7. What is the one Western that you would recommend to anybody?

I would have to go with Rio Bravo, as it kind of holds sentimental value to me as the movie that got me into watching more Westerns. I used to think most Westerns were Cowboys vs. Indians, and therefore the classic movie equivalent of guy’s action movies today. There’s hardly any action in Rio Bravo until the end, most of it takes place inside a jail. It’s a character study mostly. I think Dean Martin is really on his game in this movie, and that’s fun to see. A close second would be The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance. Stewart and Wayne together on the screen is something else.

8. Who is your ideal movie-viewing partner?

Just someone who is enthusiastic about, and doesn’t talk through the movie. I also like seeing movies with people who enjoy discussing them afterward.

9. Has a film ever made you want to change your life? If so, what was the film?

Hmm, well, I guess you could say classic films changed my life in the way that they truly made me realize how much I love film, and studying film. I hope to move my career path in way that will reflect that in the future.

10. Think of one performer that you truly love. Now think of one scene/movie/performance of theirs that is too uncomfortable for you to watch.

Well, obviously this spot goes to Jimmy Stewart. I think the first time I saw Vertigo it was somewhat uncomfortable to watch him transform into that crazy, obsessive and controlling version of Scotty Ferguson.  But at the same time I was totally mesmerized by his performance, and still think it’s one of his absolute best.

11. On the flip side, think of one really good scene/performance/movie from a performer that you truly loathe.

I honestly don’t think I have a performer that I can’t stand yet, although Hugh Herbert is starting to inch closer to that title for me.

12. And finally, since it will be New Year’s soon, do you have any movie or blogging-related resolutions for 2012?

Just to blog more, watch more international films and get around to some classics that I haven’t seen yet. I started yesterday with finally watching A Day at the Races.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Year’s Movie Meme

  1. Fun! Sorry I haven’t been around much to comment. It’s been so crazy around here! Trying to be better about that!

    Here’s to a great year of blogging ahead of us!

  2. Oh, not a problem. I’m so bad about commenting, I definitely need to be better about that!
    Yes, here’s to a great year of blogging!

  3. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

Comments are closed.